“Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come”

“Write down the revelation
and make it plain on tablets
so that a herald may run with it.
For the revelation awaits an appointed time;
it speaks of the end
and will not prove false.
Though it linger, wait for it;
it will certainly come
and will not delay.”

Habakkuk 2:2&3

This morning I am resting in these words from God in the book of Habakkuk…

“Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come”

I’m sure all adoptive parents could speak to the fact that one of the hardest parts of the process is the waiting. I know throughout our adoption process the times of paperwork and appointments and fundraising and doing where easy and almost enjoyable for me. I felt in those times that for the first time I was actually doing something to help Our Baby. I was doing something to help bring him/her home. I will admit that I can often be caught in the trap of being a “human doing” not a “human being”, so I see God’s hand at work inside of me during this time of waiting. A time of learning to rest in Him, trust in Him, and find my purpose and strength in being His. I’m learning that though I might not be “doing” anything right now He is “doing” A LOT of things to help bring us to Our Baby.

The beginning of this verse speaks of “writing down the revelation and making it plain.” During this time of waiting I have come to understand why God asks us to do this. In the waiting we have often had to refer back to the revelation God gave us in regards to growing our family through adoption. If we didn’t have it written down and made plain we could begin to doubt God’s promises. The enemy will use any foothold he can get to deter you from the path and vision God has for you, and the time of “waiting” for adoptive parents can be one of his favorite times to plant seeds of doubt. The enemy knows that “the revelation awaits an appointed time” and so from the time of revelation to the appointed time he wants us to doubt God and His perfect plan. But during the waiting I pray that I will keep this at the forefront of my mind as well, that “the revelation awaits an appointed time”. And though my heart and mind might doubt and question, that through the truth of God’s Word and the written revelation He gave us I would stand firm in His promises and trust my Father’s Word and instruction that

“though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come.”

Leave a Reply

